Tyto Alba

Dreamy Dynamic Indietrash

Tyto Alba, which is the scientific name for Barn Owls, is a mesmerizing meld of guitar and synth textures reminiscent of modern acts like Daughter, Mitski, Japanese Breakfast and Alvvays. The band consists of Melanie Steinway on guitar and vocals, Matt Rossi on guitar, Danny DiMarchi on synth and bass, and Andrew Bair on drums. After self-releasing several EPs and singles, the band's debut full-length record, Sucker, is due for release this spring, recorded with Colin Bricker of Mighty Fine Productions.